INTERVIEW WITH MAGEN McMINIMY, AUTHOR OF IMMORTAL CRAVING

ImmortalCraving bookcover

Hello, L.M. David here. It’s Monday, again and this time I am interviewing Magen McMinimy, Author of Immortal Craving, which is the second book in her Immortal Heart series. This interview, like the others, was done last year. I, again, issue an apology to Magen for not posting this sooner and hope she can forgive me.

Welcome Magen. Let’s get this interview started.

Q.  Tell me a bit about yourself.

A.  I grew up in Northern California (Sonoma County… yes that is what is known as the wine country now). Now I live in Northern Idaho, and have been here for nine years now and couldn’t imagine leaving.

 Surprisingly enough I wasn’t an avid reader when I was younger and really only found my passion for reading, and eventually writing, a few years ago. I’m married and have been for almost seven years now. My husband and I love camping in the summer and I look forward to the first snow fall every year; it’s magical.

I’ve battled with some medical issues, thankfully none of which have been life threatening. In 2010, I woke up to find I had lost the vision in my right eye. I wish I could say that had been a shock, but I’ve known since I was nine years old that this was a possible outcome. I am now considered legally blind. I mention every time I tell my story that legally blind and actually blind are very different things. I can still see. That was around the time I started writing, it was a hobby that became a passion that occupies a massive amount of my time.

Q. You are an inspiration in that you stayed true to what you wanted to do. Well done. Now about your book, Immortal Craving. It is the second book in a series you’ve written, which is Immortal Blood. Give us a brief summary of your first book.

A. Immortal Blood was the first book in my Immortal Heart Series. It followed one of the five Elite Light Fae Warriors, who protect humans from the Dark Fae. Bain and Izzy were the main characters in it and here’s the blurb from Immortal Blood…

 “A perfect night on the town turns out to be her worst nightmare. A date with a handsome man is the catalyst for events that she thought only happened in fairy tales. Thrust into a world of danger, Isabelle has no idea what is in store for her as the Light and Dark Fae fight over her future.


Isabelle Moreno is a young woman working her way through life, finding little time for love and adventure. Until she agrees to a date with a mysterious stranger, only to find out the secrets this man holds are something she could have lived her entire life without knowing. The Dark Fae Luck Eater has found something enticing in Isabelle’s humanity.

Bain is an arrogant playboy and an Immortal Light Fae Warrior. He and his four brothers fight for the safety of the human race while remaining something of myth. After weeks of tracking the Dark Fae Luck Eater, Bain comes across yet another victim, Isabelle.

Bain has finally found his match in this feisty human as she fights against him and her ever growing attraction to the Immortal who is bound to protect her. 

Q. Nice. What is the plot of Immortal Craving?

A. Immortal Craving follows Kale, the youngest of the warriors and introduces a lot of new creatures to the series. It’s a story about how lies and betrayal from his past find a way of changing his future.

Q.  In Immortal Craving, the main character is Kale, a young Light Fae Warrior sent to protect the Human World. What is he like?

A. Kale is awesome. He’s a free spirit, who has found that the rules and expectations cast upon him as one of Rowan’s (the Light Fae Queen) warriors don’t fit into the way he handles pain and loss. Kale to me is like the little brother I wish I’d had. He’s heroic and patient and loving. He’s a character that I think is probably hard not to fall in love with… does that sound conceited? Lol

Q. The character, Katarina, is living among humans. What is her character like?

A. Katarina is a Dark Fae Succubus, she beautiful and has been through a massive amount of crap in her life, so she’s tough and unyielding.

Q. Does the human world know about the Fae world or that its warriors protect them?

A. No everything Fae is hidden from the humans.

Q. Describe the Fae world you created.

A. That’s a tough without going into major detail, but the simple answer is there’s our world, the Human World. There’s the Middle World, which is split between the Dark and Light Fae. Darion is the ruler of the Dark and Rowan is the ruler of the Light. They have thinly veiled agreement in their world which allows them to exist mostly in peace. And the only thing the two agree on is that Humans can’t know about the World of Fae. Finally there is the Under World, which is ruled by the immortal three (sisters). They rule the Light half of the underworld, and the Immortal Four (brothers) rule the Dark half of the Underworld.

Q. Is it difficult to create a fantasy world, the characters and creatures that live in it?

A. The short answer is YES. I’ve done a ton of research in all forms of mythology to help me build my foundation. Then I just let my mind go wild. That’s one of the great things about fantasy and paranormal, there are no real rules (as far as I am concerned)

Q. What is Patron?

A. LOL, it’s the best tequila out there!

Q. Party people! Are Immortal Blood and Immortal Craving connected? If so, how?

A.  Yep, they are the first two books of what will be at least a five book series.

Q. What was your favorite part in Immortal Craving?

A.  Hmmm, that’s tough.  I love all the elements in this book, but it’s the interaction between the characters that are most important and probably my favorite parts.

Q. Which character is your favorite?

A. I love them all!  But in this book, it would be Kale. In the next book it will likely be Loathar and in the first book, it was Bain.

Q. Which character is your least favorite?

A. Ooh, I don’t know. In this series I love even the villains.

Q. If Immortal Craving were made into a movie, who would you want to play Kale and Katarina?

A. I answered this question on a blog post a little while ago and I chose Ian Somerhalder for Kale and Keira Knightly for Katarina… I also chose Chris Hensworth for Bain and Jessica Alba for Izzy.

Q. Why did you choose to self-publish Immortal Blood and Immortal Craving?

A. Simply put, I am impatient. I’ve self-published everything else I’ve written and love the Indie community, as well as being a part of it.

Q. What other titles have you published?

A. Quite a few actually: My Half-Blood Princess Series has eight books and one Novella. I’m working on the second book in my North American Pack series. I have a YA series (Twins of Aurora) with one novel and one Novella. And then the two books in my Immortal Heart Series.

Q. You are prolific. What advice do you have for authors considering self-publishing?

A. Do it right…. I learned this the hard way. Get an editor ( I can recommended a great one) and become active in the Indie community. Network with other authors, send out ARC’s of your book for feedback. And most importantly remember ( and this is true for traditional publishing) not everyone will love what you write, so take criticism without anger. And let the bad reviews you may get help with the next book your write. Also, make time to connect with the people who love your writing; they are the encouragement we all need when following our dreams!

L.M. David: That is great advice. Thanks for doing the interview and I wish you the best!

Author’s Bio:

I kind of like to think of myself as a normal lady living a semi normal life. I’m not sure that’s all that accurate; I have a sweet husband and two dogs-my girls- that I think of as my children. I grew up in Sonoma County, California and I never pictured myself moving. Funny because now I live in North Idaho and I love it here, I love the summers; camping, BBQ’s with friends, and the farmers markets. I find the winters magical and I love the snow. I left a lot of amazing friends and an amazing extended family in California, but I met my now husband a few months after the move and was married to him in June of 2006. In 2008 I finished college and became a wedding planner. I love a good party and I live to decorate and make things beautiful and amazing for those around me. I started writing as a hobby. I’ve been one of those people who are obsessed with the world of the paranormal for as long as I can remember. I self-published my first book in August of 2011 at my husbands’ urging.

Life is a constant balance of what we want and what we need. It’s also a lot like a Battle; a battle that we all have to fight in our own way. I chose to try and love and cherish every minute that I get to chase my crazy dreams and create worlds and characters to fall in love with.

Author’s Links:

http://magenmcminimy.weebly.com/

http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5229169.Magen_McMinimy

http://www.amazon.com/Magen-McMinimy/e/B005JSXJ5G

https://twitter.com/MagenMcMinimy

IMMORTAL BLOOD LINK: http://www.amazon.com/Immortal-Blood-Heart-ebook/dp/B00AOHGJXG/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1358544004&sr=8-1&keywords=IMMORTAL+BLOOD

One response to “INTERVIEW WITH MAGEN McMINIMY, AUTHOR OF IMMORTAL CRAVING

Leave a Reply

