AUTHOR INTERVIEW, TRINA M. LEE, AUTHOR OF DARKER, ALEXA O’BRIEN HUNTRESS

Image

Hello, this is L.M. David. It’s been a while since this interview, and the ones that follow, were initially done. Of note, this was done with Trina in June, 2013 but never posted on my blog. Those who read prior author interview may recall each opened with a complaint about Preston, the main character of my book, Touched: The Hunter Legacy. Since I am still wrapping my head around getting back into this, these will be straightforward for a while. Be patient.

This interview is with Trina Lee, author of Darker, Alexa O’Brien Huntress.

Welcome Trina. Let’s get started:

Q.  Tell me about yourself.

A. I’m a Canadian author, a huge animal lover and believer in dreams coming true. I have a fiancé and a teen daughter who make my world complete.

Q. What is your book, entitled Darker, Alexa O’Brien Huntress about?

A. It’s about a powerful werewolf named Alexa who possesses a unique power due to her connection to a vampire. In this book Alexa is trying to find a way to stop a demon who is threatening to kill the wolves in her pack.

Q.  What is the character Alexa O’Brien like?

A. She’s feisty and takes no crap from anyone but she’s also emotional and thoughtful, wanting to do what is right.

Q.  You describe Lilah as a demon queen. What has made this character so angry toward Alexa and her pack of wolves?

A. Lilah is cursed. The only thing that will break her curse is something that Alexa has.

Q.  I see there are also vampires in this book. With the character Kale Sinclaire missing, does that mean there is a war between the vampires and werewolves?

A. No there is no animosity between vampires and werewolves in this series. For the most part they co-exist rather well.

Q.  Who is Arys Knight and what is he like?

A.  He is the vampire Alexa shares power with. He’s an arrogant vampire with the ability to get what he wants and make others enjoy giving it to him. He is the perfect mix of monster and man.

Q.  Shya is yet another individual in Darker with a grudge. What is this character about?

A.  Shya is a demon. He doesn’t really have any grudges, he just has plans that he won’t let anyone get in the way of.

Q. What inspired you to write Darker?

A.  I am enjoying writing this whole series. Each book is just as exciting as the last. It keeps me going.

Q.  This is the sixth book in the series in the Alexa O’Brien Huntress series. Which is your favorite to date and why?

A.  I don’t think I have a favorite. I love all of them.

Q.  Which do you find more fascinating to write about? Werewolves? Or Vampires? And why?

A.  I love them both. They are both featured quite prominently in the series considering Alexa is a wolf with power that comes from her link to a vampire. The vampire and the werewolf are easily my top two favorite supernatural creatures.

Q. In Darker, which character was the hardest for you to write?

A. Nobody really. The story is told in first person which keeps me linked closest to Alexa. It allows me to see the others through her eyes which makes it feel very natural for me.

Q. What was your favorite part when writing Darker?

A. Writing the scenes that will surprise readers is the best part.

Q.  Will there be another installment in the Alexa O’Brien series?

A. Yes there will be more books in the series. I’m not sure how many in total yet.

Q.  You self-published, as so many other authors within recent years have opted to do. Why did you prefer that over traditional publishing?

A. Actually I was traditionally published first and I still do have a traditional publisher for some erotic romance stories. I chose later to move the Alexa series from a traditional publisher and re-release it myself. It was the best business decision for me at the time and I’ve enjoyed it.

Q. What advice do you have for other writers who are just starting in the publishing world?

A. Never give up and don’t stop writing. It takes time to get your name out there but with hard work it does happen. Learn all that you can and if you self-publish, hire a good editor. It’s a must.

Q. Also, I visited your blog site. Does Dark Mountain Books (which I believe is a self-publishing group of writers which you are part of) still producing books? I noted you changed from it to Createspace for your later novels. If the question is too nosey, it’s okay if you don’t answer the question.

A. Dark Mountain Books is an independent imprint I started with fellow author Alanna Coca. I didn’t switch anything away from it. My Alexa books are still Dark Mountain releases. I only use CreateSpace to distribute print copies.

L.M. David: Well, that’s all the questions I have for you. Thanks for doing this interview and I wish you the best of luck with your writing projects.

Author’s Bio:

Trina M. Lee was born in Edmonton, Alberta Canada. Writing fiction since childhood, a fascination with the supernatural developed in her early teen years and an immersion in paranormal fiction began. Trina enjoys hearing from readers and has an active social media presence.

Author’s Links:

Website: TrinaMLee.com

Facebook: Facebook.com/AuthorTrinaMLee

Twitter: Twitter.com/TrinaMLee

Excerpt from Darker: Alexa O’Brien Huntress

Alexa O’Brien is fighting a losing battle with the dark power growing inside her as she struggles to cope with the absence of her wolf mate, Shaz. There’s no time to feel sorry for herself. She must find a way to stop Lilah, a demon queen hell bent on forcing Alexa to willingly surrender her blood to break a centuries old curse. With her power bound, Lilah is ready to play dirty. Even if it means killing Alexa’s wolves, one by one.

It isn’t easy to stay a step ahead of the demon, especially with the FPA on her case. The government organization is to blame for the disappearance of vampire, Kale Sinclair. When she looks into his whereabouts, the discovery of some shady secrets paints the FPA in a whole new light.

Alexa’s vampire lover and twin flame, Arys Knight, doesn’t quite see the demon situation her way. The conflict between Arys and Alexa grows hot when Arys wants to ally with Shya, a demon with his own sinister agenda. But Alexa can only deal with one demon at a time. Nothing else matters when Lilah targets someone deeply important to her. Alexa will do anything to make it right, including walking straight into the demon’s clutches.

Leave a Reply

