INTERVIEW WITH STACEY BROWN, AUTHOR OF DARKNESS OF LIGHT

StaceyDarkofLightbookcover

Hello, this is L.M. David and today I am interviewing Stacey Brown, author of Darkness of Light. Usually I start these interviews off with a “Preston” moment but he’s been on his best behavior since I created a new vampyre whose sole purpose is to keep the uncontrollable vampyre under wraps. Now that I mention that, I’ve not seen her either. I wonder…

Let’s start the interview. Welcome Stacey to my corner.

Q.  Tell me about yourself.

A.  Currently, I am living back in San Francisco, CA after living for a while in Los Angeles and Boston and many years abroad in London, Caribbean, Australia, and New Zealand. I loved living abroad, but deep down I guess I am a Northern California girl at heart. I did some acting, set/interior design, and now split my time between staging homes and being an author. Writing and traveling are my two biggest passions. Other than that I am preparing to be the freaky cat lady down the street. Just need the cats.

Q. What is Darkness of Light about?

A.  While the synopsis covers what happens in the book, I feel Darkness of Light is basically about someone who doesn’t feel she fits in the world. Feeling different, insecure, and treated like a freak is a something a lot of people feel at all ages. This story is how Ember figures out who she really is and learns to be happy with herself, no matter what other people say or think. A lot of people never feel like they “fit” in with what the society says they should be. Ember goes against that and finds her place.

Q. Ember Brycin is the main character. Tell us about her.

A. Ember has had some very tragic events happen in her life. The loss of her mother has caused her to cut herself off from most people, but then she has never felt like she belonged anyway. Strange things happen to her. She sees things no one else can, hears voices no one else hears, all this in addition to her two different colored eyes and hair makes people treat her like an outcast. But, Ember is a strong person. She doesn’t just sit back and take it. She’s not “good” girl but spunky and fierce.

Q.  Ember connects with Eli Dragen. What is he like?

A.  Eli is a conundrum wrapped in mystery. He is frustrating, aggravating, sarcastic, and seriously hot! He is definitely more of the “bad-boy.” He is a leader of an infamous motorcycle gang and constantly in trouble with the law. His character and what has happened in the past have caused him to be cold and cruel—not the nice guy. But, when he loves, he loves fiercely and he is extremely loyal. There are so many layers to Eli, but I can’t say a lot without giving too much away. He’s another one where nothing is ever what is seems!

Q. What distinguishes Darkness of Light as a New Adult paranormal romance versus a Young Adult romance?

A.  Darkness of Light could actually be more in the mature YA, but the overall series is more in the NA. As people do, the series grows and the characters develop. Each book will contain more adult content as Ember continues to mature.

Q.  What was the hardest part of Darkness of Light to write?

A.  Action seemed to be my least favorite part to write. It is a different style of writing than dialogue. Action and fighting scenes have to be written to keep and build the tension, but be explained well enough so people can picture it in their heads. I don’t like when a fight scene will go on and on for pages. So it is a balance of length and the building of tension and description. I will sometimes leave the action scenes and come back when I am in the mood to really get in and write them. I guess I don’t mind writing the love scenes! The action scenes actually aren’t much different than my “love scenes,” but for some reason I don’t struggle with those as much as the action. I thank my character inspiration board for that!

Q.  Who was your favorite character?

A.  This is like asking a mother to pick which child of hers is her favorite! Can’t deny, though, I have a soft (hot) spot for Eli! But I really do love them all.

Q.  Who was your least favorite character?

A.  Again, a mother can’t choose! I really don’t have one. They are all in the story for a reason and make the story progress . . . even the sheriff.

Q. What aspect of Darkness of Light will attract readers to your book?

A.  I’d like to say it would be the unique story and writing, but it’s probably the insane chemistry between Ember and Eli. I think the story has lots of twists and turns that will keep you reading, where you never quite know what’s going on. And just when you think you do . . . it’s not always what it seems. There is romance, action, mystery, intrigue, and lots of humor. For some girls, Eli will be enough!

Q.  What about the paranormal genre do you like most?

A.  I love the magic of fantasy—the what-if’s and the possibilities. I don’t know if I could write a book without some elements of fantasy. When I was a kid I would make-believe these elaborate fantasy/Goonie kind of stories. I haven’t lost that and I still want to live in that world.

Q. What about good versus evil attracts readers to it?

A.  Funny, people keep thinking it’s about good versus evil, but it’s actually not. There really is no good or bad. Light and Dark do not mean good and bad in my book. The best stories I’ve found is where even the “evil” person has a reason for why they are “evil.” My characters don’t think they are evil and what they do makes perfect sense. My series is FULL of grey. Even the most docile person could kill or do something bad if placed in different circumstances.

Q.  Will there be a sequel to Darkness of Light?

A.  There are four books in the series. I have just finished Book Two of the Darkness Series, Fire in the Darkness, which I am hoping will come out in Fall, 2013. It’s at the editors now. And as we speak, I am beginning Book Three. It’s never ending for authors!

Q.  If your book were being made into a movie, who would you want to play the lead roles?

A.  I have my character ideas on my Pinterest Board. Most aren’t celebrities because I prefer having more unknowns in my head. My characters are so precise and real to me. The secondary characters I could probably cast. For example, I’ve always pictured Josh Holloway as West. But I feel no celebrities could fit the leads just right. I am willing to sit through the casting though! Especially the male leads!

Q.  What advice do you have for writers just getting started at writing a novel?

A.  Seek therapy it’s quicker and cheaper…

Kidding! My advice is that if you enjoy doing it for fun or want to do it as your job, don’t give up. It is a LONG, grueling process. There are a lot of rejections and times you’ll want to give up, but push through and keep writing. You also have to learn that not every word you write is worth keeping. You have to get thick skin and know people’s critiques are to better your book and you as a writer.

L.M. David: Thanks again, Stacey, for stopping by. I wish you the best of luck with your Darkness series!

Book Blurb:

Freak. Witch. Crazy. Schizo.

Ember Brycin has been called them all. She’s always known she’s different. No one has ever called her normal, even under the best circumstances. Bizarre and inexplicable things continually happen to her, and having two different colored eyes, strange hair, and an unusual tattoo only contributes to the gossip about her.

When the latest school explosion lands her in a facility for trouble teens, she meets Eli Dragen, who’s hot as hell and darkly mysterious. Their connection is full of passion, danger, and secrets. Secrets that will not only change her life, but what and who she is—leading her down a path she never imagined possible.

Between Light and Dark, Ember finds a world where truth and knowledge are power and no one can be trusted. But her survival depends on finding out the truth about herself. In her pursuit, she is forced between love and destiny and good and evil, even when the differences between them aren’t always clear. At worst, she will incite a war that could destroy both worlds. At best, she will not only lose her heart but her life and everyone she loves. Once the truth is out, however, there will be no going back. And she’ll definitely wish she could.

Author Bio:

Stacey Marie Brown works by day as an Interior/Set Designer and by night a writer of paranormal fantasy, adventure, and literary fiction. When she’s not writing, she’s out hiking, spending time with friends, traveling, listening to music, or designing.

Author Links:

WEBSITE:
www.staceymariebrown.com

AMAZON:
www.amazon.com/dp/B00BFKOEY2

GOODREADS:
www.goodreads.com/staceymariebrown

PINTEREST:

http://pinterest.com/smariebrown/darkness-of-light-character-inspiration-book-1/

BARNES&NOBLE:

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/darkness-of-light-stacey-marie-brown/1114560138?ean=2940016368832

SMASHWORDS:

https://www.smashwords.com/profile/view/staceymariebrown

Leave a Reply

