INTERVIEW WITH HEATHER SHARPE, AUTHOR OF FINDING FLIGHT

HeatherSharpeFindingFlight

Hello, this is L.M. David and today I am interviewing Heather Sharpe, author of Finding Flight. Before we begin, I just want to say duct tape is the most versatile stuff on the market. I thought there were 1000 uses for it. Preston raised that number to 1001. I am not saying what he taped up except to say breathing through straws in one’s nose does wonders for clogged sinuses.

Okay, let’s get started. Heather, welcome to my utility closet of a room.

Q. Tell me a bit about yourself.

A. I am a 30 year old mom of the most wonderful almost 2 year old you will ever meet! I married my high school sweetheart at 19, and we’re happier today than we were then. I taught 4th grade for six years before I decided to stay home with my little one, and I haven’t regretted the decision since.

Q. Briefly describe what Finding Flight is about.

A. Finding Flight is about Ledger Arnau, an Enforcer for a secret society of shape-shifters, who is assigned to bring his errant brother back to face the Council after he disappears. Ledger enlists the help of Corinne Winters, who has the ability to locate missing objects. Instead of solving all Ledger’s problems, locating Lynn only multiplies his troubles.

Q. What do you find fascinating about the paranormal genre?

A.  I love the magic involved with paranormal creatures–especially shape-shifters. For me, reading is an escape into another world, and with the paranormal genre, it really can be a different world.

Q.  The main character, Ledger Arnau, what is he like?

A.  Ledger is fiercely loyal and dedicated. When their mother was killed, he swore to look out for his younger brother, and that oath shaped him into the protective man he is today.

Q. How would you describe Corinne’s character?

A. Corinne is quirky, and also very loyal and protective. Many of Corinne’s idiosyncrasies were borrowed from my own life–like her disliking water, and inability to keep track of her own possessions. One of the reasons Ledger and Corinne make such a great couple is because they are both dedicated to their family.

Q. Why does Ledger’s brother Lynn become the problem for the Council in Finding Flight?

A. Lynn broke his oath to the Council and fled his responsibility. Then, when they couldn’t rein him in, other boys in the community began to test the control of the Council. They need to bring him in and make an example of him in order to maintain their control of the people of Ernehale.

Q. What is Corinne’s talent?

A. Corinne is able to locate an object by concentrating on it. She has dreamed of using this ability to help police locate missing people, but until she met Ledger, she was never able to locate a person or her own missing objects. The more time she spends with Ledger, the more her ability grows.

Q.  Why would Corinne reject Ledger since she, herself, is different from an average human?

A.  Because Corinne and her sisters have gifts different from the average human, she has come to take it for granted somewhat. When she is confronted with Ledger’s other half, it is during a high stress situation, and it is more than she is ready to accept at the time.

Q.  What inspired you to write Finding Flight?

A.  A dream. I knew I wanted to write a shape-shifter novel (because they are my favorite to read), but I didn’t want to write about wolves or cats, because they are so common in the market. I wanted to write something I hadn’t come across, and I dreamed about an eagle large enough to swoop down and carry me out of the branches of a tree. Actually, I rewrote that dream into the end of Finding Flight.

Q.  I love reading paranormal stories. What about Finding Flight will draw readers to it?

A.  The shape-shifters, of course! 🙂 Also, the comic banter between Corinne and Ledger.

Q. Which character did you enjoy writing the most?

A.  I enjoyed writing Corinne quite a bit because many of her mannerisms were based upon my own idiosyncrasies. One of the minor characters, though, was my favorite to write. Another Enforcer, Cedric, will eventually get his own book because I enjoyed writing his part so much!

Q. Which character was your least favorite, and why?

A. Ironically, Cedric ended up frustrating me the most, because I had to cut out or rewrite many of my favorite scenes because he took them over, and this isn’t his story.

Q.  What is your current work in progress?

A.   I’m working on the sequel to Finding Flight, tentatively titled Trusting Flight, that will feature Lynn. And since Cedric butted his head into both stories almost uninvited, I’ve started outlining a third book in the series for him.

Q.  What advice to you have for writers just starting into the publishing arena?

A.  Keep writing, don’t give up, and make connections with other writers. I received 69 rejections before I was offered my first contract, and if I hadn’t connected with a wonderful critique partner, I wouldn’t have met the people responsible for offering me the contract.

L.M. David: Well that concludes this interview. Thank you again, Heather, for stopping by. I wish you the best with Finding Flight.

Author’s bio:

Heather M. Sharpe lives on six acres in Central Kansas with her husband, perfect baby boy, mother-in-law, and sister-in-law. In case the house isn’t full enough, it also includes four noisy dogs, one cat who inspired For the love of a Sphynx, another who torments him, and a lizard.  At night, all of them think they need room on the bed (except the lizard, thankfully).

Up until the birth of her son, Heather taught elementary school.  Now she chases around her toddler and writes whenever he naps long enough to turn on the laptop.  When not writing or chasing the baby, Heather enjoys hanging at the lake, waking up early to tear up the water on the wakeboard or wakesurf board, and making s’mores.

Make sure to check out Heather’s website and Facebook page to keep informed of all her newest projects.

Blurb:

As an Enforcer for a secret society of shape-shifters, Ledger Arneau is offered a chance to retrieve his wayward brother before The Council puts out a warrant for his arrest. When the trail goes cold, he is willing to try anything to pick it up again, even if it means bringing in an outsider.

Corinne Winters is able to find any missing object, except her own, by concentrating on it. She’s always dreamed of using her skills to help locate missing people. After an embarrassing setback with the local police department, she jumps on the opportunity to use her skills to help Ledger.

Corinne finds a love she didn’t know she was looking for with Ledger, and discovers a new depth to her talent when they are together. When her new love and his brother disappear back into the secret society, Corinne must stretch her talent beyond anything she ever imagined to bring them home. Unaware of the circumstances surrounding Ledger’s disappearance, Corinne races across the country on his trail. When she finally locates the brothers, she witnesses the unbelievable, and flees in terror. In order to claim the love of her life, she must find a way to accept him and his secret.

Author Links:

www.heathermsharpe.webstarts.com

www.facebook.com/heathermsharpe

www.twitter.com/heathermsharpe

http://www.amazon.com/Finding-Flight-ebook/dp/B00CB5JJCC/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1368451740&sr=8-1&keywords=finding+flight

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/finding-flight-heather-m-sharpe/1115091588?ean=2940016720999

http://www.allromanceebooks.com/storeSearch.html

One response to “INTERVIEW WITH HEATHER SHARPE, AUTHOR OF FINDING FLIGHT

Leave a Reply

