INTERVIEW WITH FELICIA TATUM, AUTHOR OF WHITE AURA

Image

Hello. This is L.M. David interviewing Felicia Tatum, author of White Aura.  Felicia, thank you for agreeing to come here and do this interview … I apologize for the armed guards but we have a pest control problem in the building. There is a vampyre on the loose and he is making a nuisance of himself … doesn’t like being told interviewees are not potential snack food. But not to worry, you’re safe in here – he hasn’t been able to master combination locks yet. And the last reported sighting we’ve had placed the vampyre near the cafeteria staring at a Twilight poster and shaking his head in disbelief.

Okay, let’s get started.

Q.  Tell me a little about your background.

A.  Well, I have a bachelor’s degree in Business and I’m currently working on my MBA. I should’ve followed my dream of writing and gone into English, but I suppose it’s a good back up. I’ve been in Tennessee my whole life.

Q.  You have been writing since you were twelve. What inspired you to want to write?

A.  When I was younger, I would write whatever came to me. As I got older, friends/boys/stress created great writing points. I got away from writing after high school, but started back last year after having some interesting dreams.

Q.  The White Aura is your first book. What was your inspiration when writing it?

A.  I had a dream about it. I’d been thinking about writing more so I could stay home with my daughter, and after that dream, I just went with it. The story developed from there.

Q.  The character Scott Tabors, how would you describe him and what is his personality like?

A.  Scott is very protective and caring. He is the ultimate hero, looking to save his family and his lady.

Q.  The character Olivia Whitehead, describe her personality. Did you put any of yourself into this character and if so, which ones?

A.  Olivia is still finding herself. She’s a lot like I was at 17, unsure about who she is yet growing into a woman. She’s not really like me now, but she has the insecurities I did at her age.

Q.  As a self-published author, why make that decision and what has been the hardest part about going through the publishing system doing everything yourself?

A.  I decided to go this way after finding a great community of authors that explained things to me and helped me out. The hardest part for me is marketing. I’m still finding my way in that area.

Q.  How long did it take you to write this book from start to finish?

A.  Exactly 5 months; from May 2nd to October 2nd.

Q.  What is your favorite moment in the book?

A.  My favorite moment is the scene of Olivia’s dream in the field.

Q.  If your book were being made into a movie, who would you get to play the lead roles?

A.  This is such a hard question! I don’t know anyone who fits the description perfectly, so I guess I would have to find unknowns.

Q.  With all the competition in today’s book market, what about your book stands out to attract readers?

A.  I think my cover is amazing and a great attraction point, but also think my varying POV’s are something the readers enjoy.

Q.  When writing, what do you do to get your creativity flowing?

A.  It doesn’t take much ha ha.  When I sit down to write, it just happens.

Q.  What was the hardest part of The White Aura to write and why?

A.  Honestly, I can’t think of anything that was too difficult to write…the rewriting was the hardest for me because I wanted to make it the best I could.

Q.  There is a second book in this series. Do you have a name for it and can you give a little blurb about it?

A.  The Vessel is the title…and it’s about Scott and Olivia’s quest for the descendant, The Crimson Calamitous, and there’s also a little surprise for everyone about Aiden.

Q.  When to you expect to finish it and have it ready for publication?

A.  I hope to have it finished in the next couple of months, J .

Q.  What advice do you have for unpublished authors as inspiration?

A.  Find authors and talk to them…let someone read your work…hearing other’s stories and knowing someone likes your writing is the best motivation out there. It gives you hope and confidence.

Blurb from White Aura:

How do you live with the gut clenching truth that the one you love will die if you meet them? Twenty year old sorcerer Scott Tabors is learning how. After seeing seventeen year old Olivia Whitehead outside of a coffee shop, his heart will never be the same. He longs for her, he wants her, and he knows she will be his. They are heart mates. …but due to a curse on his family, he can’t meet her. Not yet. So for now, he visits her in her dreams.

Her dreams where he can tell her everything but his name…

Olivia Whitehead is a typical junior in high school. She and her best friend are having the time of their lives, but she can’t help but notice the changes happening to her. Especially the changes in her heart after she begins dreaming about a mysterious dark haired young man. But what will happen when the school heartthrob decides he wants Olivia? Will she realize the dream man is real or will she move on?

Author’s Bio:

Felicia Tatum was born and raised in Tennessee. She always loved reading, and at the age of twelve began writing. Her passion for creating stories grew and in May 2012, she finally wrote her first novel, The White Aura.

She still lives in Tennessee with her daughter and her kitty. She loves cooking and books. Animals are some of her best friends. She watches a lot of Disney channel and often dreams up new book ideas. She’s currently writing the second book in the series.

Links:

www.facebook.com/feliciatatumwriter

www.twitter.com/sassybrunette55,

http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6592100.Felicia_Tatum,

One response to “INTERVIEW WITH FELICIA TATUM, AUTHOR OF WHITE AURA

Leave a Reply

